The Board


The Board is a body corporate established under the Veterinary Practice Act 2003 (Act).  The Act and Veterinary Practice Regulation 2013 are within the portfolio of the Minister for Agriculture, the Hon. Tara Moriarty MLC.

Board members are appointed for a 3 year term by the Governor of NSW.  The Board consists of 6 veterinarians and 2 non-veterinarians or consumer representatives:

  1. Georgina Child represents specialist veterinarians
  2. Magdoline Awad represents veterinarians in urban areas
  3. Peter Alexander represents veterinarians in rural areas
  4. Kate Mills represents veterinarians in academia
  5. Steven Ferguson (veterinarian and Ministerial selection)
  6. Paul McGreevy (veterinarian and Ministerial selection) 
  7. Sarah Hunter (consumer and Ministerial selection)
  8. Lisa Minogue (consumer and Ministerial selection)

Steven Ferguson is the President.

The object of the Veterinary Practice Act 2003 is to regulate the provision of veterinary services in NSW for the following purposes:

  1. To promote the welfare of animals
  2. To ensure consumers of veterinary services are well informed as to the competencies required of veterinary practitioners
  3. To ensure that acceptable standards are required to be met by veterinary practitioners so as to meet the public interest and national and international trade requirements
  4. To provide public health protection.


The Board achieves these purposes through performing a number of functions including: the registration of veterinary practitioners and licensing of veterinary hospitals; investigation of complaints against veterinary practitioners; developing codes of professional conduct for veterinary practitioners; enforcing the provisions of the Act and Regulation; promoting professional development of veterinary practitioners; and providing information to veterinary practitioners and consumers of veterinary services. 

The Board cooperates with other jurisdictions in Australia and New Zealand to further a common and harmonious approach to regulation of the veterinary profession. This function is assisted through interaction with other state veterinary boards, the Australasian Veterinary Boards Council Inc. (AVBC), and organisations representing the interests of members of the veterinary profession such as the Australian Veterinary Association (AVA).


Strategic Plan 2023-2026