National Recognition of Veterinary Registration (NRVR)

National Recognition of Veterinary Registration (NRVR) is now in place in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia.  Each of these states and territories now recognises the registration of a veterinarian in any other state or territory of Australia with ‘deemed registration’.

Under NRVR veterinarians should register in the state or territory in which they reside. 

In practical terms a veterinarian with full or specialist registration in NSW will be deemed as registered should they wish to work in:

  • Australian Capital Territory
  • Northern Territory
  • Queensland
  • South Australia 
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria
  • Western Australia


As a general rule, most Boards will require a veterinarian to apply for registration within 3 months of moving their principal place of residence to that jurisdiction. As state laws do vary, the obligation is on the veterinarian to know the Acts and Regulations of the state they are visiting and, if in any doubt, they should contact the local Veterinary Board.

Registration fees will be payable only in one state for states participating in NRVR.